Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

June 12, 2024

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We write to urge swift approval of Governor Bill Lee's request for a major disaster declaration pursuant to the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act due to severe weather that occurred on May 8-9, 2024.

On May 8-9, 2024, several rounds of severe thunderstorms impacted the state of Tennessee. In the early morning hours of May 8, 2024, an outflow boundary and associated line of storms moved southward out of Kentucky across the Tennessee state line. The warm, unstable air mass combined with strong upper-level atmospheric dynamics created additional waves of storms which traversed the state throughout the day. The atmospheric profile supported isolated supercell thunderstorms and eventually a broken squall line. Both types of storms produced tornadoes, damaging winds, large hail, and heavy rainfall. Devastatingly, the Tennessee Department of Health attributed the storms to the deaths of three Tennesseans. Additionally, due to this storm, 459 homes in Tennessee were damaged, of which, 137 homes were determined to have been destroyed or have suffered major damage.

To respond to this disaster, Governor Lee is specifically requesting Individual Assistance and Public Assistance for Cannon, Giles, Maury, Robertson, Rutherford, and Sumner Counties, along with Hazard Mitigation statewide. Governor Lee's request is attached. On behalf of the State of Tennessee, we urge you to approve this request as soon as possible.

Our offices can provide you with any additional information you need.

Sincerely,

Marsha Blackburn

United States Senator

Tim Burchett

Member of Congress

Bill Hagerty

United States Senator

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

Scott DesJarlais, M.D. Member of Congress

Mark E. Green, M.D. Member of Congress

David Kustoff Member of Congress

John Rose Member of Congress Chuck Fleischmann
Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress

Andy Ogles Member of Congress